Photo Credit: Sander Meurs

Where is PEI?

Prince Edward Island is located off the eastern coast of Canada, nestled between the provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Québec and Newfoundland and Labrador in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island's capital city, is roughly 1600 km (1000 miles) from Toronto, 1000 km (625 miles) from Montréal, 1100 km (650 miles) from Boston, and 1450 km (850 miles) from New York City.

Prince Edward Island’s latitude of 46'14" N places us as far north as the south of France, southern Hungary, the Mongolia- China border, and northern Oregon in the U.S.A. Our longitude of 63'08" W places us as far west as Venezuela, Argentina and the island of St. Kitts in the Caribbean.

Prince Edward Island is in the Atlantic Time Zone, which is UTC-4 hours. When it is noon in Prince Edward Island, it is 8:00 a.m. in Vancouver, 10:00 a.m. in Chicago, 11:00 a.m. in Toronto, Montréal, Boston and New York, 4:00 p.m. in London, England and midnight in Perth, Australia.

There are three convenient ways to arrive on Prince Edward Island. From New Brunswick, cross the dramatic Confederation Bridge, a journey which takes about 10 minutes and brings you to Borden-Carleton in the southwestern region of the province. Or make the journey from Nova Scotia with Northumberland Ferries, a crossing which operates May through mid-December. The mini-cruise takes about 75 minutes and docks in Wood Islands in the province's southeastern region. Or arrive by air at the Charlottetown Airport.  Regardless of where you arrive, the size and crescent shape of the Island make it easy to begin your tour at one entry point and end at the other. And remember, you only pay a toll when you leave!

The Chief Public Health Office in consultation with the Provincial and Federal Government will determine when it's safe for other provinces to come visit the Island.

Effective July 3rd, travel restrictions between the Atlantic Provinces have been lifted. Residents coming from Atlantic Canada are required to complete a self-declaration travel form, here.

COVID-19:Get the latest updates from the Prince Edward Island Government. Accommodations, events and attraction listed on the website may be affected by COVID-19. Please contact the operator or venue directly.